Every brunette needs a blonde best friend

Blonde/Brunette

For all sakes and purposes, let’s forget that my hair is pretty much every shade of blonde/brunette/red right now and go back to the good ol’ days when I was COMPLETELY blonde. It’ll happen again soon.

ANYWAYS. This post is a tribute to my other half.

Best friends

I’m lucky enough to have some pretty great friends in my life. People that I consider to be the most important people in my life and I would do anything for. People I would consider close and best friends. But with Michelle, it’s a different kind of “best”.

Michelle and Jessie 1

She’s always been that one person. The one person that doesn’t put up with my bullshit and calls my bluffs. The one that tells me to shut my mouth when I voice an insecurity. The one who talks just as LOUD and as FAST as I do. The one who will slap me, tell me to shut up when I whine that she’s pulling my hair to hard while she’s braiding it and the one who lovingly told me I couldn’t be ugly because “who wants an ugly best friend?!” The one I’ve known since preschool. We were bus buddies, neighbors and classmates from pre-school on up. She’s quite possibly the greatest person that’s ever stepped into my life and will never completely step out of it.

Michelle and Jessie 9

Michelle and Jessie 2

Michelle and Jessie 3

Our parents can probably verify that we didn’t always get along. We were (are) VERY alike. We sat together every day on the bus to school. We had a lot of the same classes. We ate lunch together. Then, we got a little older and unfortunately our town had very slim pickin’ on the boy department. I remember I thought it’d be a good idea to date one of her ex-boyfriends (NOPE). She had an interest in one of my ex-boyfriends as well in high school (NOPE). She stopped being my friend when I was with an abusive ex that I wouldn’t leave, but immediately came to my aid when I left him for good and needed someone to pick up the pieces. We fought. We yelled. We said mean things. But most importantly, we were always there for each other.

Michelle and Jessie 4

Michelle and Jessie 5

In high school I threw her a surprise party. I planned the WHOLE thing, tricked her into coming back to my house because I “forgot something” and surprised the PANTS off of her. (Don’t worry, the sly little devil did the same to me for my 21st birthday.)

Michelle and Jessie 6

Michelle and I haven’t lived near each other since senior year of high school, but the bond we created in the first 13-14 years of our life could no longer be touched by distance.

Michelle and Jessie 8

Michelle recently decided to take a leap of faith and move out to the east coast. She had nothing to lose and figured there was no time like the present. It may not be easy or even fun right now, but at least she followed her dreams and is TRYING. I’m incredibly proud of her for that.

Michelle and Jessie 7

Michelle and Jessie 10The point of this post wasn’t to boast about how awesome my friend is (though she is pretty great – duh), but to show HER exactly how much she means to me. I’m sure she means this much to others, too. She’s beautiful (as you can see in the pictures), smartfunnyindependent and courageous.

Michelle and Jessie 11

Michelle – Following your dreams is HARD and sometimes those dreams change or aren’t what you expect. Sometimes life likes to throw you through a loop or down a long tumbling road. Just remember, everything happens for a reason and someday things will be easier again. In the meantime, I’m here for you just like you’ve always been there for me. Keep kickin’ ass and takin’ names. You deserve nothing less than the best. 

Always

P.S. I just need to brainwash you into loving Milwaukee and then we can be roomies! 😉

———-

What are the top things you look for in a best friend? Honestly? Loyalty? You tell me! 🙂

<a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/5924395/?claim=8ykm56vymz7″>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Every brunette needs a blonde best friend

  1. Pingback: A letter |

Leave a Reply

