A picture-full weekend

This might be a bit of a long post since I haven’t been around for a little bit πŸ™‚

This past Friday I woke up at 4:30 a.m. with crazy pain in my upper stomach. I couldn’t sleep so I tossed and turned for a bit and finally got up at 6 a.m. to do some work from home. After doing that for about an hour, I realized that the pain just wasn’t going to go away and I couldn’t go into work. I felt awful since we’re so busy right now and it was horrible timing to be sick, but I could barely move off the couch let alone drive an hour into work.

My stomach finally subsided a little bit so I fell asleep and woke up around 1. We didn’t have much food so I went to Subway and got a salad. I couldn’t eat much of it but I tried!

Friday salad

Subway salad – ham, tomatoes, pickles, black olives and my own light ranch dressing.

Unfortunately I wasn’t able to stay home from work all day since we were too busy so I went in around 2:30 and worked until 8 p.m. Then I came home and had pizza because I was lazy and tired (not good for the diet or the sickness…)

On Saturday, my mom and cousin came to visit Jenny and I. I spent most of the morning cleaning and Alex put up the key hook my dad made me!

Apartment cleaning

Clean apartment

Bad quality – iPhone/instagram/shaking arm.

We went to Ryan Braun’s Graffito for lunch and then went all over the Milwaukee area shopping. My mom was nice enough to buy me a dress and scarf for the colder weather coming soon.

Dress

I think this’ll look cute with some brown boots!

I love infinity scarves … and Francesca’s. Too bad most of their clothes don’t fit me yet 😦

After that we went to World Market where I got some cute little bowl things.

World Market

Awesome sign I want but not for $100!

little cups

Little cups

 

Then off to Petco where I cried over the two cats that I really wanted to take home with me. It sucks living with someone that doesn’t want me to get a cat. I never thought I’d be two years out of college and still not have at least one animal 😦

First kitty

First cute kitty that I can’t have…

Second kitty

Second kitty I wanted. So cute πŸ™‚

Funny product placement

Funny product placement of heart burn medication right next to the chili beans in Target – had to snap a picture of it!

My mom and cousin left for the night while my sister spent the night (she wasn’t feeling well). We watched a few of the Twilight movies, got pizza hut (which threw me over my points this week so I wouldn’t be surprised if I gain weight 😦 ) and then called it a night.

I woke up pretty early today and hung out with my sister for a bit before bringing her back to school. I decided to make myself lunch which consisted of a turkey stick, spaghetti squash with marinara sauce, a piece of turkey meat and a pickle (random) while making a lunch for Alex with the “good stuff” – leftover pizza hut, pasta and breadsticks – basically the stuff I couldn’t eat!

lunch

Random lunch for me

Much less healthy (but probably tastier) lunch for Alex.

After lunch, I passed out for almost three hours. (Back story: Alex came home last night at 3 a.m. so I didn’t get a ton of sleep once he came home and then got up at 8 a.m.) So by the time I woke up it was time to make dinner!

I made Skinny Cajun Pasta that I pinned on Pinterest.

Ingredients

Ingredients

Starting to cook

Starting to cook …

Second

More ingredients into the pot!

Dinner

… And the finished product

Chocolate

Dark chocolate (x2)

The only thing I didn’t love about the recipe was the prep time – lots of cutting vegetables. I’d also cut the chicken into smaller pieces than the recipe calls for but that’s just my personal preference. Still turned out pretty good, though!

Now we’re watching Captain America and then I’ll probably have to call it a night. Tomorrow’s going to be insane at work. I’m hopefully going to check out a few gyms either tomorrow or Tuesday. I need to rearrange my budget a bit but I just won’t work out without a gym or classes. I find too many excuses!

What was your favorite part of the weekend?

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A picture-full weekend

  1. Sara G. says:

    My favorite part of the weekend was checking out the Parade of Homes with Brandon. House-envy took me over because everything was so gorgeous!!! That pasta looks great btw!

    • Jessie says:

      That’s awesome, Sara!! I can only imagine the house-envy – I love looking at houses πŸ™‚ And the pasta was really good!

Leave a Reply

