A weekend with little sleep

Sleep is one of those things that I don’t usually give up easily but I really haven’t been sleeping well lately. On Thursday, I barely slept. Then Friday night and Saturday night I was up until 6 a.m. I slept a normal amount Sunday night but I was so exhausted today that I ended up getting sick and having to leave work early. I’m not sure if sleep was the cause of my sickness today (awful headache and naseau) but I bet is wasn’t much help. Sleep is important, people!

So what caused me to lose so much sleep this weekend? Well, all fun things of course. On Friday night my friend Amy from college who currently lives in Washington D.C. came to town for a weekend of girl time. My boyfriend has been in San Francisco for a car show all weekend so it was just us girls. We met up with our friend Gina and headed to Hotel Metro in downtown Milwaukee for some $5 martinis that were spectacular!

Martini

One of my two martinis for the night – Pomegranate something…

Girls

Amy, Brittany (another friend from college) and I at Hotel Metro

Afterwards we headed back to Gina’s apartment for some girl talk which ended up lasting until 3:30 a.m. I live about 20 minutes from Gina’s and then Amy and I ended up getting into more story time so bedtime wasn’t until after 5 a.m. We got up around 10 a.m. that morning and headed off to the new Aaron Rodgers (a.k.a. my future husband – no big deal) and Ryan Braun restaurant in Brookfield called 8 Twelve.

8Twelve

8Twelve

lunch

Some sort of pasta with tomato sauce, bacon, cheese and tomatoes.

Our food was really good but I have to say it was really pricey. I’m glad we went for lunch so they were a tiny bit cheaper. I was also a little thrown off by the decor because the entire front of the restaurant has pictures of my husband Aaron Rodgers and Ryan Braun but the back (where the tables are) literally have pictures of cows. I’m pretty sure I’d rather look at Aaron than a cow but that’s just me. 🙂

After that we headed back to my apartment so the girls could nap and then we headed off to another restaurant called The Safe House which is a spy-themed restaurant in Milwaukee. It’s super cool – I recommened if you’re ever in the area and looking for a fun place to go. Their food isn’t the BEST in Milwaukee but it’s still pretty good and the fun stuff definitely makes up for it 🙂 I had a black bean burger but I was obviously more excited about my drink since that’s the only thing I took a picture of. I got to keep the glass!

spy glass

My super awesome spy glass ;o)

We then headed off to Trinity (an Irish bar) but we didn’t stay long. We were all super tired and Amy still had to travel to Chicago so we called it quits early (well, if you count 12 a.m. “early”). I came back to my apartment and couldn’t sleep for some reason so I ended up staying up until 6:30 a.m. watching Pretty Little Liars and staring at the wall. I had to get up at 9:15 to get ready to meet some friends downtown for a Brewer’s game though so my sleep was interrupted pretty quickly.

The game and tailgating was pretty fun. Honestly, I’m not much of a baseball fan but I like Ryan Braun the stadium and hanging out with friends so it was still pretty fun.

Miller Park

Our seats were pretty high up but it was an awesome view!

When the game was over we got something to eat and then I headed back to my apartment. Luckily I passed out around 10 p.m. so I almost got a full night’s sleep 🙂

I woke up, weighed myself for our W.W. weigh-in (I gained 0.6 lbs 😦 sad) and left for work. I had to be to work by 7 a.m. today and I really wasn’t feeling well but was being trained on a new project I’ll be taking on. I had a super intense headache which made it hard to see straight (they were all fuzzy like I was concentrating on something too hard) and my stomach was a mess so I ended up leaving work around lunch time. Once home, I heated up a frozen dinner (yuck) and some baked beans. Random, yes. But it worked.

Frozen dinner and baked beans

Frozen dinner and baked beans – lunch of champions 😛

Then I proceeded to fall in and out of naps all day in between reading magazines. I finally got rid of my headache around 5 p.m. and took off to WalMart for a few necessities (which turned into me buying a movie and make-up…). My car has been making an awful grinding noise lately so I tried not to keep driving around.

Dinner included more baked beans and a salad from WalMart. I later had some Special K cereal because I was still hungry. Again – didn’t eat very well today but it’s better than the pizza and Mexican that I had all of last week so I took a step in the right direction.

Monday night dinner

Crappy WalMart salad

I watched the Hunger Games movie (which was awesome – I hadn’t seen it yet!) and now I’m getting ready for bed. Alex should be here any minute but I really need to catch up on some more Zzzz’s. Hope you all had a great weekend!

Anyone have any specialities they make for lunches to bring to work? I feel like salads never keep me full but neither do Lean Cusines. Frozen dinners are so full of shit and I end up using a ton of points and I’m still not full … but unfortunately they’re convenient.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

