Crazy Apartment Hunting

I’ve got to say, apartment hunting is stressin’ me out! I’m not even moving out for another 2 months but in order to have a chance with the apartments we like, we have to start looking  2 months ahead of time when people start giving their 60 days notices.

To give you a little background, I started apartment searching in January with a friend of mine in the suburbs of Milwaukee near my current workplace. I’ve always wanted to live downtown, but it was too far of a commute to work for my friend.  After a few months of looking, my boyfriend and I decided that it would be more practical for us to try to find a place together since I’m currently living in his place and we’re with each other all the time anyway. Since my boyfriend also has always wanted to live downtown, we’ve started looking about a month ago at a few locations in the heart of the city.

I have my heart pretty much set on one apartment in a safe neighborhood in downtown Milwaukee, but I won’t even know if they’ll have anything available OR if it’ll be in our price range until tomorrow. Then, we’ll need to view the place right away and apply if we think it’s what we want. Everything is happening so fast! I’m hoping that all of the stars will align and we’ll find the perfect place and get it but my realistic brain (or negative brain… whichever 🙂 ) is making me sick with nerves.

My boyfriend and I are also toying with the idea of staying out in the suburbs for another year just to get more for our money. Plus, I’m sure I could convince him to let me get a dog 😉

It’s too bad how much money can “control” your mindset in life an apartment search. I’m trying to stay positive that we’ll find something within our price range that we like. We may have to compromise on neighborhood unfortunately, but we’ll see how it goes. Hopefully after tomorrow I’ll have a better idea of what’s available at our “top choice” and then we’ll go from there.

If anyone in the Milwaukee area knows of a nice 1-2 bedroom apartment, please let me know! 🙂 I’m going to make a huge post about apartment hunting after I’ve found a place and moved in. I’ve learned so much in the past few months that I definitely need to share my insights!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

